Main Menu
Main Page
Tournament Schedule
Technical Regulations
Organization Committee
WYCC 2009
Photo Gallery
Live Games
Press Room

WYCC 2009 R11: The Championship ends with the closing ceremony
The final round of the World Youth Chess Championship that started at 10:00 a.m. ended. The local hero Kubra Ozturk who is also 2007 and 2008 European Champion beat her Kazakh opponent WFM Guliskhan Nakhbayeva to take the bronze medal in the U-18 girls’ category. Congratulations to all the players that finished in the top three places in each category.

The tournament closed with the awards ceremony where the top 6 boards of each category were invited to stage and given medals and presents by the Turkish Chess Federation. The deputy governor of Antalya Mr. Fuat Ergün, the FIDE deputy president Georgios Makropoulos, the president of Turkish Chess Federation Ali Nihat Yazici, the president of Syria Chess Federation Dr. Hani Al-Bitar, the Chairman of FIDE Verification Commission Lakhdar Mazouz, the district governor of Kemer Bayramali Kose, the Mayor of the Municipality of Kemer Mustafa Gül, the Youth and Sports director of Kemer Taliye Magden, the players and the parents all attended the closing and awards ceremony. In their speeches The FIDE deputy president Makropoulos thanked everyone for this successful organization on behalf of FIDE, the Kemer district governor Bayramali Kose expressed his appreciation and pleasure to be the hosting city for this event and he stated the city’s intentions to host more chess events and activities in the future. After the speeches and the presentation of the memorial plates, the awards ceremony took place. You can find the photos of the closing ceremony from the "Photo Gallery" link on the left.

Have a nice trip back home!
  Hope to meet you again in 2012 Chess Olympiads!

The players that finished in the top three places in each category of this 11 day marathon event are as follows:

U-8 General category
1. Aryan Gholami (Iran) 9 points
2. Tanuj Vasudeva (USA) 8,5 points
3. Mohammad Amin Tabatabaei (Iran) 8,5 points

U-8 Girls’ category
1. Ruotong Chu (China) 9,5 points
2. Samritha Palakollu (USA) 8,5 points
3. Yunshan Li (China) 8,5 points


U-10 General category
1- Jinshi Bai (China) 9 points
2- Murali Karthikeyan (India) 9 points
3- Han Yu Zhang (China) 9 points
U-10 Girls’ category
1- Gunay Vugar Qizi Mammadzada (Azerbaijan) 10,5 points
2- Maria Furtado Ivana (India) 8,5 points
3- Hikmet Qizi Hojjatova Aydan (Azerbaijan) 8,5 points


U-12 General category

1- Bobby Cheng (Australia) 9 points
2- Krzysztof Duda Jan (Poland) 8,5 points
3- Richard Wang (Canada) 8,5 points

U-12 Girls’ category
1- Sarasadat Khademalsharieh (Iran) 10 points
2- Anna Styazhkina (Russia) 9,5 points
3- Aleksandra Goryachkina (Russia) 8,5 points


U-14 General category
1- Jorge Cori (Peru) 9 points
2- Kamil Dragun (Poland) 8,5 points
3- G V Sai Krishna (India) 8,5 points

U-14 Girls’ category
1- Marsel Efroimski (Israel) 9 points
2- Aleksandra Lach (Poland) 9 points
3- J Saranya (India) 8,5 points


U-16 General category

1- S P Sethuraman (India) 9 points
2- Santosh Gujrathi Vidit (India) 9 points
3- Maxime Lagarde (France) 8 points
U-16 Girls’ category
1- Deysi Cori (Peru) 10 points
2- Meri Arabidze (Georgia) 8,5 points
3- Paikidze Nazi (Georgia) 8 points


U-18 General category
1- Maxim Matlakov (Russia) 9 points
2- Ivan Salgado Lopez (Spain) 8,5 points
3- Kacper Piorun (Poland) 8 puan
U-18 Girls’ category
1- Olga Girya (Russia) 8,5 points
2- Tsatsalashvili Keti (Georgia) 8,5 points
3- Kübra Öztürk ( Turkey) 8 points
 Turkish Chess Federation 2009